Our Engagement Story

I’ve dreamed and imagined about what the moment would be like when I got engaged since I was a little girl, as I’m sure many other people have. On April 15, 2016 Shayne exceeded all of my expectations and made the moment absolutely perfect. The day went a little like this:

Everything was pretty normal in the morning. I got up, went to class, and did all the other boring things your average college kid would do. I knew that Shayne and I had plans to go to Newburgh, walk around down town, and eat supper at one of the cafes for our anniversary. Thus, I curled my hair and made myself put on a dress instead of sliding into my normal t-shirt and leggings outfit. After I got ready, which I’m sure was at least an hour later than when Shayne had asked me to be ready, I drove to his house so we could ride to Newburgh together.

When we got to Newburgh we soon were faced with the fact that it was prom night and many people had come to the river front to take pictures. Most of the parking spots were full but there were a few empty spots for those lucky people who excel at parallel parking. I am absolutely not one of those lucky people, but Shayne however is very proud of his parallel parking skills. So after Shayne showed off his parking skills, we started walking down the river front. If you read my first post, you know that our first date was by the river since it was Easter and not many places were open. So what a better place than the river to celebrate our anniversary?

After walking a little way Shayne pointed me into the direction of a beautiful garden. I’ve lived in this area my entire life and I had never heard of the garden before, God’s Garden. Shayne knows my love of flowers and plants of all sorts, so he couldn’t have picked a better location. We walked around for a while and looked at the gazebo, small waterfall, plants, and stones, some with scriptures on them. We got to a certain spot and Shayne looked down and asked me what type of flower this was:

IMG_4785.JPG

I told him I wasn’t really sure (my high school horticulture teacher would be ashamed). Shayne looked at me kind of shocked because I’m usually full of useless plant information and always telling him what kind of flower everything is when we see them.  Shayne told me to take a picture of the flowers and I kind of laughed and asked why, and he just insisted that I do so, so I did. After that, we wandered over and looked at a small stone bench with a quote on it. The quote was based on holding people that you love, not only in your arms, but in your heart forever. Shayne read the quote out loud and then got down on one knee. He said many things, but ended with “I want to hold you in my arms, and in my heart forever. Katie, will you marry me?” I of course said yes and hugged Shayne, probably 100 times. I can’t even explain how I felt in that exact moment but it was the best moment of my life, so far. Shayne and I walked back to the gazebo to sit down and kind of pull ourselves together. Shayne cried a little, but he won’t ever admit it ( he blamed it on the purple flowers making his “allergies” act up).

What is the first thing you do after getting engaged these days? Take a selfie, of course!

IMG_4790.JPGDon’t mind my makeup and goofy smile, I’ve always been an ugly crier.

Shayne made that day forever unforgettable, and I am so grateful for everything that he did. I am excited for the day that I will become Katie Kreager, and be by his side for the rest of our lives. After all, every princess becomes a queen someday. 😉

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This post is really beautiful, although I don’t like to admit it I am a sucker for love stories. Good for you both! 💛

    Like

  2. designcrunch says:

    You both are adorable, and you shouldn’t worry about your make up! Haha, your smile exudes all the day’s happiness. Beautiful post, and congratulations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. katekreager says:

      Thank you so much! 😘 I’m always worried about my makeup, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

