What’s the Rush?

Some say we are too young. Although not too many people have been straight forward about it, I can tell that more people are thinking it than just those who admit it. This assumption used to upset me but it doesn’t bother me much now. The phrase I’ve heard a few times is “What’s the rush?” Well the rush is this; I absolutely adore Shayne and I am beyond thankful that we were faced with the opportunity to begin our journey together so young. I get to spend the rest of my life with this amazing man, being supported and loved by him every single day for the rest of time. Why would I want to wait any longer than I have to on taking that next step in our journey? I wouldn’t.

Shayne and I have talked about this many times before. People always ask if we are both sure that we are ready, and this is Shayne’s response:

When people say or think we are too young, Β they are simply wrong. Some people find love quicker than others, and that’s okay. I know that we are ready to take the next steps in our relationship. I already know that Katie is the love of my life so why wait a couple of years to propose when I could do it now? I love her so much, and I knew I was ready to put a ring on her finger.

-Shayne

Lets take a trip back to the 1959. My grandma was 17 and preparing to graduate from high school a semester early. Her and my grandpa had looked at engagement rings sometime before this. When they went into the jewelry store my grandpa was asked how much he was wanting to spend on a ring, and he said around $200. They looked around and my grandma picked one out for $199.99 (good work, grandma).img_5092The ring on the left is her engagement ring, and the ring on the right is her anniversary ring.

My grandparents got married the day after my grandma graduated high school.
Lets jump back to 2016. My grandparents have been together for more than sixty years overall. My grandma is in the nursing home and suffering with Alzheimer’s disease but she still has her husband by her side, in sickness and in health.

I don’t think that Shayne and I are too young to be married. We have a two year age difference, he is twenty-two and I am twenty. Some people wait until they are thirty to wed, and sometimes the marriage still fails. I don’t think that the strength of a relationship is directly correlated to the age of the two people, but more so towards the love, loyalty, friendship, and bond that two people have together. I can’t wait to marry my best friend.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. When you know, you know! Best of luck to the almost newlyweds. Take care, Heidi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. boxofpages says:

    I wish you all the best and never stop to learn to understand each other πŸ™‚

    – E.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zaiyd says:

    Wow, love your thought on all this relationship and wedding stuffey.
    I hope you get loved more and more everyday πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. katekreager says:

      Thank you so much! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

