Spontaneous Shenanigans

This past weekend Ellie and I took a short spontaneous road trip to Indianapolis. We intentionally didn’t plan anything because we wanted to figure things out as we went along. We did however get snacks the night before because we don’t travel anywhere more than 30 miles without snacks. We did a fun little documentation of our trip, and you can find it on YouTube here, or the video is also posted on our personal Facebook pages.

We left our apartment around 9:00 in the morning, and the trip officially started as soon as we turned on our “road trip” playlist. One of Ellie’s specialties is making good playlists for every occasion, so she gets all of the credit for that. Before we even got five miles down the road we started in on our snacks, and before we got 100 miles we were on the search for a gas station because we prematurely drank too much Dr.Pepper. We probably drove twenty miles out of the way, but we found a nice clean bathroom, and then we were back on our way.

We were lucky to not hit much traffic on the way up since it was a Sunday and not high travel time, so we got there pretty quickly. The first thing we did (other than look for parking on a football Sunday) was go to the mall to find something to eat, and most importantly get tea. The sole purpose to this road trip was for us to get our favorite herbal tea in the entire world from Teavana. I don’t remember at what point in our lives we discovered this tea, but I am so glad we did. We used to buy loose tea and make it ourselves at home, but it’s just not the same as getting it in store. The store is super cute anyway, so it’s always a joy to visit.

After we left the mall we walked around downtown for a while and went in and out of a few shops. We then used our handy dandy iPhone’s to look up things that might interest us. I came across Indy Reads Books and it looked pretty interesting so we thought we would give it a shot. As soon as I walked in the door I fell in love with this little place. It’s just a little hole in the wall bookstore that sells new and used books, but it was extremely cozy and inviting. The workers and volunteers put tabs on many of the books that they recommend and even left a description of what they loved about the book. We bought a few things, but my favorite thing I came away with was a copy of “Indy Writes Books: a Book Lover’s Anthology.” This book has short stories from many authors who are either from Indiana or who are living in Indiana, many of the stories never published before. One of the writers who donated work for the book, Cathy Day, actually spoke with me over Facebook messenger and that was pretty cool to me. I wish I would’ve thought to get the name of the girl who was working that day, because she basically hung out with us for about 45 minutes and was super helpful and sweet to talk to.

After we made our way out of the bookstore we headed to the canal to walk around. We walked down one side, stopping to take some pictures along the way, and then continued up the other side. As soon as we thought our trip was just about over, my very best friend got to meet someone for the first time who has recently become really close to me. Sam (Shayne’s brothers girlfriend) texted me asking if I was in Indy and I told her where we were and she came out to meet us. I was so glad these two got to meet each other, it made me thankful that we decided to walk the canal before heading home.

After hanging out with Sam for a little while we decided to hit the road. We stopped for dinner, and then got stuck in traffic due to a wreck on 37. It took us about an hour to travel ten miles, but we just pretended to have a party in the car and everything was fine. Once we got moving past the wreck everything was smooth sailing. We made it back to Evansville and stopped at Taco Bell for a snack because we are garbage. When we got in our apartment we unpacked and just hung out as usual. I am so thankful to have lifelong best friend like Ell who is always up for a good adventure. Sometimes I forget how lucky I am but things like this are always a good reminder. I absolutely don’t know what I would do without her by my side, and luckily I don’t think that’s something I’ll ever have to learn to do.

teavana-w-ell

Con un beso

Leave a Reply

