Adventure to Bluespring Cavern

Today Shayne and I decided to take a little trip to Bluespring Caverns in Bedford, Indiana. We have a little passport for Indiana caves that gets stamped every time we purchase tour tickets for one of the main ones, and once we fill it up we get free t-shirts, woo-hoo.

I am writing this as we are on our way home, Shayne is driving of course. I asked him what his favorite part of the trip was and he said, “Mainly just being with you, but I really enjoyed the boat tour and seeing all of the formations in the cave.” My personal favorite part was when we had our picnic after the cave tour. We brought our picnic blanket and stuff to make sandwiches and we sat under a shade tree to enjoy our meal together.

On our way home we saw Martin State Forest and decided to stop. We found a hiking trail to the fire tower and I convinced Shayne to park the car and climb the tower with me. He wasn’t super thrilled because he doesn’t love heights, but he was a good sport because he knew I really wanted to do it. He climbed well over half way with me, and then let me take his phone to the top for pictures.

Now we are almost home and we’re already looking forward to our next adventure, whatever that may be. We would love to go to another Indiana cave this year but many of them close down for tours after October, so we may have to wait until next year. As long as we are together I don’t care where we go, because anywhere with Shayne is exactly where I want to be.

Leave a Reply

